Skip to content

Fitness: Backpack Workout

May 24, 2012

Lookin’ good…

 

Hangry here had a seriously embarrassing injury this week: we took the kids I work with to a gymnastics place as a field trip and while bouncing on the trampoline, I injured my back. I’m not sure which was worse about this particular injury: the intense pain or the immense shame. Here I am, 26 years old, bouncing on the trampoline like I’m freaking 5 years old again (ironically enough, this was the exact same gymnastics place I went to as a kid! Literally, nothing about it has changed…except for me) and I pull out my lower back. Ugh.

So, this featured “workout” this week would not be for me. The Backpack Workout. Definitely not going to be trying this one anywhere in the near future. But, here goes:

Backpack Workout
Do a good deed and get your workout out in at the same time! In the “We’ve Got Your Back” workout, participants fill a daypack with non-perishable food items to make the workout more challenging by carrying the extra weight during a workout. Then, donate it to a local food bank after each session. Start a group in your neighborhood !

Interesting. While I have no idea who started this workout or if it’s become popular at all (I can’t find many other links to it on the internets so…) or whether or not it’s safe, I can get behind the idea of combining philanthropy and fitness. I wish there were other ways that we could think to do so. Maybe the DRAG QUEEN WORKOUT SCENE could do a fundraiser for future drag stars? Or Cycle Karaoke could sponsor a karaoke contest for a cause?

Well, even if you don’t end up doing this workout for charitable purposes, it is also apparently a cheap way to get ripped. SixPackShortcuts has this to say:

Fill up your back pack with household items that can be evenly distributed throughout your back pack. I understand not everyone has weights or access to a gym so here are some examples of common household items everyone has you can use for extra resistance… * Rice bags (as shown in the video) * Books * Water Bottles Once you have filled your back pack to your desired weight we are going to superset 4 simple exercises, but watch out because you are going to find quick that this added weight makes these exercises much more difficult.

Well, okay then. I’m into it. Workouts with rice bags! Work out and then cook it up. Or was that not the point?

(Image courtesy of Medical Beauty Center)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2012 8:00 pm

    This is a really good idea! My mixed martial arts coach will sometimes have me do drills (like running up and down a flight of stairs, push-ups, jumping jacks etc.) while wearing a 40-lb weighted vest and I can attest that ANY activity is exponentially more difficult and exhausting with the extra pounds. Which is why I LOL at the HAES and “Fat but Fit” contingent’s claim that they are just as energetic, agile and not putting any extra stress on their body systems by carrying around tens of extra pounds.

  2. June 1, 2012 12:12 am

    It seems like a great idea and that guy in the video is friggin ripped! I’ll give it a shot and let you know if I live to tell about it.

  3. June 1, 2012 3:51 pm

    it does sound like an accessible and good idea…i’ll try it to once my back heals up and we can all report back!

Leave a Reply

