Skip to content

Celebrity Spot-Lite(?)/Hangry Hippocrite!: Paula Deen Diabetes

February 6, 2012

"Butter Messiah" with her minions

Some of my readers have asked me “Hey, HangryHippo, why haven’t you written about the Paula Deen Diabetes ESCANDALO!!! yet?” (Ok fine, just you BW, but you count for many). Well, to be honest, I’ve been waiting to gather all the facts and see how this butterstorm blows over. But the short but simple article published on yahoo last week

PAULA DEEN CAUGHT EATING A CHEESEBURGER

was impetus enough.

Basically, Paula Deen revealed that she has had Type II Diabetes for almost 3 year and is now the celebrity spokesperson for a Diabetes drug. Now, we all know (all of us, right? Because every.single.one of us spends our time watching the cooking channel right?) Paula Deen as the butter-loving, deep frying fanatic, bacon absurdist who pulls stunts such as this on her show:

I have watched that video countless times with my mouth wide open, and it never fails to amaze me. Especially now that I consider that Miss Paula had Type II Diabetes at the time she was shoveling donut bacon cheeseburgers down her throat…or deep frying macaroni and cheese wrapped in bacon (another marvel I actually witnessed on live TV):

Oh my lawd oh my lawd oh my lawd oh my lawd oh my lawd! I always deemed Paula’s cooking as “a heart attack waiting to happen” and it seems the queen of everything that is wrong with American food and health is ACTUALLY literally physically the queen of everything that is wrong with American food and health! Type II Diabetes, if you don’t already know, is

…the most common form of diabetes. Millions of Americans have been diagnosed with type 2 diabetes, and many more are unaware they are at high risk…In type 2 diabetes, either the body does not produce enough insulin or the cells ignore the insulin. Insulin is necessary for the body to be able to use glucose for energy. When you eat food, the body breaks down all of the sugars and starches into glucose, which is the basic fuel for the cells in the body. Insulin takes the sugar from the blood into the cells. When glucose builds up in the blood instead of going into cells, it can lead to diabetes complications.

Shockingly (only to Paula Deen, though) this ESCANDALO!! has led to media outlets, the Diabetes community, and Paula’s biggest fan, Anthony Bourdain, to rip her apart and deem her a HANGRY HIPPOCRITE! Bourdain has, in the past, called Miss Paula the “worst, most dangerous person in America” because of her absurdly mind-blowingly high fat cooking, whilst “Angry diabetics are calling celebrity chef Paula Deen a hypocrite, both for hiding her disease while promoting fatty, sugar-heavy foods and for partnering with a drug company that provides relief for diabetics.” This is all too disgusting for words, so let’s add the All-American drug endorsement into the picture:

Miss Paula’s public announcement and acknowledgement of her Diabetes just happened to coincide with a new online project “Diabetes in a New Light”, which is sponsored by Novo Nordisk…a drug company. Selling Diabetes medication. Of course! What a coincidence! The site has diabetic-friendly tips for a healthy lifestyle, as well as product descriptions for Deen’s diabetic medication, Victoza, on every page of the website. Oh, so this public call for “MORE SUGAR” just wasn’t cutting it as a clear cry for healthy living, Paula?

Oh, look at those smug little smiles. This is all so sick, on so many levels. I am horrified, appalled, disgusted…not surprised, but holy lord, this is exactly what is wrong with the American health landscape. Abuse of the body with high-fat, high-sugar, unnatural foods, the effects on your long-term health (in this case, diabetes), and then treatment and pushing of drugs and pretending like everything is just fine and dandy. I think the only good thing that could come out of this situation is a wake-up call to each American that we must take control of our own health, or the consequences will be severe (of course, Paula is trying to make us think otherwise though, with her pathetic website)…but this is an idealistic notion, to be sure. Where will it all end?

(Image courtesy of Dlisted, my lifeline to this sick world)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. TBM permalink
    February 7, 2012 7:38 pm

    This is a great post. I heard about this escandalo but had never seen any of Paula Deen’s cooking in action. That last clip really did me in; it almost seemed like a parody. What’s frightening is that there must be a big enough audience of people who cook/eat like that for her to keep producing the show…

  2. sexy curmudgeon permalink
    February 8, 2012 6:15 am

    OHMYGOD I JUST WATCHED THAT LAST CLIP. When she added the cream on top… That is one of the most disgusting things I’ve ever seen. And I’ve seen her honey butter fried chicken and Italian Ritz sandwich appetizers. Wow, sorry I can’t add any deeper insight to your extremely insightful commentary. I just feel a bit ill…

  3. February 8, 2012 11:15 am

    Nothing to add; you’ve said it all & I completely agree. She is a big famous symbol of why America is going to hell in a handbasket.

  4. Fedora permalink
    February 8, 2012 6:01 pm

    Anthony Bourdains comment is the best.
    I saw Paula Dean do a book signing once, she seemed drunk and made rude comments about eating at an Italian Restaurant and thinking the Mafia was about to come out of the kitchen and kill her- because she was in an Italian restaurant.
    This is a woman who has had serious mental issues including a period of time she was unable to leave her house, and then garnered fame making ridiculous food.

    I dont think she is evil as some in the media have said (Billy Bush) but I do think she is an idiot. I consider her to be the Kim Kardashion of the Food Network, so perhaps more shame on FN for putting her show on as if it was a real cooking show.

    I watch her show for entertainment, not for cooking tips. My mother has called me to say, put on Paula! She is about to deepfry a meatloaf.

    I like seeing someone deepfry a meatloaf! Like I like seeing someone jump through a burning hoop. But I am not going to think about doing either one of those!

    Solution I see- stop watching her show, dont buy her products.

Trackbacks

  1. Food For Thought: Simply Sara « Hangry Hippo

Leave a Reply

