Skip to content

Food: The Winter/Holiday Edition

December 13, 2011

In a terrible twist of irony (isn’t life just full of it? Tell ’em, Alanis!), I got really really sick immediately after posting my last entry last week about “HEALTH AND INSPIRATION” (which, let me tell you, actually really impacted how I dealt with this bout of illness and treated my mind and body, and now I’m feeling infinitely better). So, another excuse for not posting yesterday, I know I know. Mea culpa.

But, I’m back–on antibiotics and with a vengeance! And something that has really gotten me through these past few days is: CHICKEN SOUP.

Just like your...er, my...Grandmother used to make it!

As we know, chicken soup feeds the soul, but it’s also basically the best cold medicine out there, with no known side-effects (except cravings for more!). The Science Section of the New York Times has confirmed that “chicken soup with vegetables contains lots of healthy nutrients, increases hydration…by inhibiting the migration of infection-fighting cells in the body, chicken soup essentially helps reduce upper respiratory cold symptoms.” Nutritious and delicious!

So, now that I’m on the mend, I started thinking about other foods that can aid our bodies and minds during the torturous months of winter. And, Eat This! Not That! read my mind and put together a list of “The 9 Best Winter Foods!” Definitely scroll through and read their tips on cooking with these foods, but let me break it down for you real quick:

Pomegranate Seeds: Help fight inflammation

Brussels Sprouts: Potent anticancer properties

Persimmon: Antioxidants can help control diabetes and the cell damage it causes

Leeks: Since leeks are related to garlic and onions, they contain many of the same beneficial compounds found in these well-researched, health-promoting vegetable

Kiwi: One kiwi contains about 100 milligrams of immunity-boosting vitamin C

Beets: Contain powerful nutrient compounds that help protect against heart disease, birth defects and certain cancers, especially colon cancer

Guava: One cup of raw guava contains more than 8,500 micrograms of the antioxidant lycopene, which may help prevent coronary artery disease

Kale: A food that you can count on for some unsurpassed health benefits, if for no other reason than its exceptional nutrient richness

Yum! Delicious and Nutritious.

 

Time to stock up on delicious and nutritious winter fruits and veggies! Hope you all are well. Keep fighting the good winter fight.

 

(Images courtesy of Flickr and Dieticians Online–a great resource!)

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 13, 2011 8:27 pm

    I’m glad to hear that you’re feeling better now:) I felt something coming along, a few backs back, and thankfully it never fully surfaced. I think I owe a lot of that to the fact of me eating more and more oatmeal and foods that are heavy in antioxidants.Great post and thanks for the healthful tips.

    jonwatersauthor.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

