Skip to content

Celebrity Spot-Lite: Look Like These Celebs!

November 16, 2011

Make Me Into J.Aniston!

Which celebrity do you want to look like? And how far would you go to reach your dreams?

In 2004, the ever-trying-to-destroy-our-minds-and-souls MTV debuted “I Want A Famous Face” where they “follow[ed] the transformations of twelve young people who have chosen to use plastic surgery to look like their celebrity idols. Whether it’s a Pamela Anderson wanna-be or a Janet Jackson hopeful, their goals are not just to look differently, but to look exactly like their favorite stars. The series reveals that many of the subject’s are pleased with the outcome of their surgeries, while others provide a more cautionary tale–with some encountering disastrous results.” Ugh. Now, there have been countless individuals who go to desperate measures in their attempts to alter their appearance to look like celebrities and, even though MTV last aired this show almost 7 years ago, the trend is still going strong today.

Last year, tabloid mainstay (ughwhyughSTOPTHEMADNESS) Kim Kardashian tried to talk a fan out of having surgery to look just like her in a twittervention where she proclaimed that nobody should  “change yourself for anybody but yourself.” What a saint, huh? But, in all seriousness, it inspired an interesting and necessary conversation among the medical community and media about how the desire to look like somebody else is indicative of low self-esteem or even more complicated mental health problems.

“The quest to look like somebody else is never going to be healthy,” said Dr. Eva Ritvo… “Each person should be the best version of themselves, not be another version of somebody else. Each person has unique talents, abilities and appearance — you should maximize that instead of hunting down a desire to look like Angelina Jolie.”

Trying to transform a person’s look to mimic a celebrity is a glaring sign that he or she suffers from low self-esteem or possibly even more complicated mental health problems such as borderline personality disorder or psychosis, Ritvo said. The pursuit of beauty is healthy as long as it doesn’t morph into an unhealthy obsession such as anorexia, bulimia or body dysmorphic disorder, she said.

I love the message of that Doctor, and everyone that was interviewed in that article is actually incredibly well-spoken and realistic, especially for those involved in the plastic surgery industry. But, in a world where every.single.day we are accosted by articles and advertisements and TV shows and blogs trying to challenge us to GET THIS CELEBRITY’S LEGS (hah, sounds like an American Horror Story episode) or mock us with CELEBRITY IS OLDER THAN YOU, JUST HAD TWINS, AND LOOKS BETTER THAN YOU EVER WILL, how are we supposed to focus on the individual beauty that each one of us possess? Try googling (is that not an accepted verb yet? Why is my spell check flaming red on that commonly used vocab word?) “Get a Celebrity Body” and you’ll come up with 381 million hits. This all used to severely affect me in my angsty, overweight teenage years. All I wanted was to be thin, and yet I never was. It was a constant battle with myself, a constant priority that I placed above all else. And you know how I finally moved on from this? How I stopped associating personal self-worth with my body type (which is also how I began on a path to attaining a body image that I am infinitely more comfortable with) and started delving into my inner self, which has brought me more joy than anything else? I stopped paying attention to the media. I stopped reading those article on “How To Get Halle’s Arms” or “What Food Would You Sacrifice To Get A Celebrity Body?” And I started focusing on myself. On what made me feel healthy and beautiful–taking long bike rides in nature, wearing clothes that fit and are comfortable and flattering for my body, doing yoga and reciting positive mantras. I was internalizing all of these external forces and this was manifesting itself externally. Now, this all may seem ironic, given that here I am! focusing on celebrities and the lengths people will go to to look like them. But, there is a difference between being aware and being obsessed (just like there’s a difference between wanting to look like a better version of oneself versus wanting to look completely like somebody else, according to the aforementioned plastic surgeons). I want to be the best version of myself, and nobody can tell me how to accomplish this except for me. And this is the message we need to be promoting, as much as we possibly can, to combat the negative messages that are being promulgated in the media and the celebrity world.

As for me, I have found one face I’d really really like to indulge in: Ryan Gosling’s Pancake. Yummmmyyyy.

Food of My Dreams

(Images courtesy of Body-Philosophy, really interesting site, and OMG! Yahoo)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. TBM permalink
    November 18, 2011 7:49 am

    Woah, I’ve never heard of that celebrity face surgery trend before. How disturbing. I couldn’t agree with you more about tuning out the media that’s constantly inundating us with photoshopped, airbrushed celebrity photos to make us feel bad (and spend money to try and feel better). It’s so hard because those images and messages are everywhere, and committing to the kind of change you made in your own life takes a lot of effort. Also, is that actually a pancake?!

  2. Trying-to-stop-her-own-complicity-in-reinforcing-gender-norms Curmudgeon permalink
    November 20, 2011 5:40 am

    Wow, an incredibly inspiring, well-written, and hopeful post so WHY IS THAT PANCAKE FACE ALL I CAN THINK ABOUT??

Leave a Reply

