Skip to content

Muy Yum!: The Best and Worst Cereals

August 30, 2011

Did you know?

The average American consumes more than 160 bowls of cereal a year, so picking the right box could mean knocking 15 pounds off your waistline yearly and infusing your diet with massive doses of vital nutrients. Use our bowl-by-bowl breakdown to find the perfect cereal for you. Our criteria: the highest ratio of fiber to sugar, along with a respectable calorie count. Sidle up and grab a spoon!

Thanks Eat This, Not That! You never fail to amaze. We’ve all learned that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and I will admit that I eat cereal almost daily (and am proud to say I eat one of the “great” ones!). It’s intriguing to find out about the best and worst of one of my favorite breakfast foods. So, instead of forcing you to go through the entire list,  let’s jump right in!

CEREAL SCORECARD:

BEST:

Fiber One Original

GREAT:
Kix, Cheerios, Grape-Nuts, Kashi GoLean, Shredded Wheat Original, Organic Smart Bran

GOOD:
Life Cereal Original, Corn Flakes, Kashi Go Lean Crunch!, Wheaties, Kashi Autumn Wheat

FAIR:
Quaker Natural Granola, Smart Start Strong Heart, Rice Krispies, Frosted Mini-Wheats, Raisin Bran

BAD:
Honey Smacks; Lucky Charms; Froot Loops; Trix; Frosted Flakes with Fiber, Less Sugar; EnviroKidz Organic Koala Crisp

WORST:
Golden Crisp

Congrats to the Best!

A Great Way To Start Your Day!

A Great Way To Start Your Day!

The Best Cereal: Fiber One Original

General Mills

60 calories
1 g fat (0 g saturated)
14 g fiber
0 g sugars

The gold standard. Add sweetness with a bit of fresh fruit.

AND BOOOOOO TO THE LOSER!

The Worst Cereal

The Worst Cereal

The Worst Cereal: Golden Crisp

Post

110 calories
0 g fat
<1 g fiber
14 g sugars

Sugar is the first ingredient. Enough said!

I’m kind of surprised the loser wasn’t Reeses puffs or Cookie Crisp…Maybe those messes were not even worth reviewing? So, although breakfast is already over, now you know the best way to start your day tomorrow (Humpday)!

(Images courtesy of Eat This, Not That!)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. jenmarie permalink
    August 31, 2011 12:22 am

    Of all the crap I used to eat as a kid, “bad” cereals are by far what I miss the most. Sometimes I really wish I knew less about what’s healthy because I really really miss Cinnamon Toast Crunch…that stuff is like crack! I don’t know exactly when I realized that eating 50+ grams of sugar for breakfast is a problem, but in this case, ignorance really was bliss.

  2. meganana permalink
    August 31, 2011 3:04 am

    Glad to see I can keep eating my favorite cereal for breakfast (Cheerios! Boring, I know) but, I do still intend to eat my second favorite cereal (Lucky Charms!) for dessert. It’s better than some other dessert options, right? (especially if I buy the organic version?) When I was a kid I was crazy for sugary cereals so my mom would let me pick out one every time we went to the store, but I couldn’t eat it for breakfast, I could only eat it for dessert. I had to eat healthy cereals for breakfast. This is probably the only rule I had to abide by as a child…and I’m still doing it 20+ years later…

  3. Carl permalink
    September 5, 2011 12:46 pm

    Cheerios rule! What is neat about Cheerios is that when kids get big enough to eat solid food, Moms and Dads can put a handful into a snack bag and virtually anywhere offer them to a hungry toddler. They are easy to eat…..no sticky hands from excess sugar……and developing their palates to favor less sugar/more healthful snacks is a lifelong good deed.

Trackbacks

  1. Food Hazards and Health « meesh007

Leave a Reply

