Skip to content

Celebrity Spot-Lite/Inspiration: Mila Kunis: ‘People Who Say They Can’t Lose Weight Are Lying’

August 21, 2011

PEOPLE WHO SAY THEY CAN’T LOSE WEIGHT ARE LYING‘ is the quote that the DailyMail attributes to Mila Kunis on losing 20lbs for her role in Black Swan. Except, unsurprisingly, in the article about the interview with her, no such quote actually appears.

Mila discusses her weight loss for Black Swan by telling Britain’s most recent issue of Glamour magazine:

‘I don’t think I ever fully realised what a human body is capable of doing. But I think I was also, in a beautiful way, incredibly naïve.

‘I believed I could do anything. I never for one moment thought that I couldn’t do it. I believe in hard work. In self-drive and self-worth.

‘I’m a huge foodie, I love food. But when people say, “I can’t lose weight”, no no no, you can. Your body can do everything and anything, you just have
to want to do it.’

I actually think what she is saying is profound and introspective, especially for a celebrity. And, although she definitely plays a terrible horrible person in the most recent film I watched her in (“Boot Camp” an awful awful horror film that takes place on a Fijian island and makes absolutely no sense), she is actually quite inspiring with the motivation she describes and genuine awe at the capabilities of the human body.

If Mila Can Do It, So Can You and I

If Mila Can Do It, So Can You and I

This is also a welcome change from the ways that celebrities usually approach weight and weight loss–as “oh it was soooo easy for me I just ran around chasing after my baby and dropped 40 pounds!” (see Sarah Jessica Parker, for example) or “noooo I haven’t put on any weight! I’m a size 2 and always have been and always will be!” while shoving their bodies into all the spanx they can find (view Jennifer Love Hewitt’s slideshow, for example) or insulting others publicly about weight issues to take the heat off themselves (see post about Christina Aguilera here, for example) or a million other sneaky*ss ways of not dealing with the actual issues of health and positive body image and even in this for once not completely deranged quote from Mila the media manages to spin it into something terribly negative and upsetting.

So, props to Mila for not participating in the bull that surrounds weight issues in Hollyweird and I hope others follow this example and that the media will stop spinning and…oh what am I babbling about. Let’s just take what scraps we can get and move on with our lives.

(Image courtesy of Beyond Hollywood, a fabu movie site)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. JOSS permalink
    August 21, 2011 10:40 pm

    check this stylin lady out!
    http://www.fatshopaholic.com/

  2. Sexy Curmudgeon permalink
    August 22, 2011 10:19 am

    What a positive, inspiring attitude! A+ for being as un-kelly osbourn-like as possible. I had to read her quote a few times to fully understand the tone she was going for, though – and I can definitely see how some of that could be misinterpreted. I would say that unless celebrities are extremely explicit about exactly how much assistance they get with their weight control, it is very easy to feel bitterness towards even their inspiring-sounding words – she doesn’t mention, for example, that she probably had one if not multiple trainers, nutritionists, cooks, etc. assisting her with every work-out session and meal.

    As a sidenote, that jennifer love hewitt slide show is surprisingly horrific – and how do her boobs get bigger when she gets smaller???

  3. August 24, 2011 9:36 pm

    Thanks so much to The Great Fitness Experiment for the mention in the HuffingtonPost!
    Check it out!: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/charlotte-hilton-andersen/celebrity-weight_b_933466.html

  4. October 30, 2012 11:59 pm

    I really like her quote. Figures it was spun to sound mean…
    You might like this post about the media and weight (I used to be an actress) : http://sheslosingit.net/2012/08/10/bogger-challenge-media-and-body-image/

    Lisa

  5. June 30, 2013 11:02 pm

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d definitely donate to this outstanding blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google
    account. I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this site with my Facebook group.

    Chat soon!

Trackbacks

  1. Stupid Things Celebrities Say About Their Weight | The Great Fitness Experiment
  2. Gozzip.se - Allt om Kändisar, Blogg och Mode Charlotte Hilton Andersen: Stupid Things Celebrities Say About Weight |
  3. Celebrity Curse » Blog Archive » Charlotte Hilton Andersen: Stupid Things Celebrities Say About Weight
  4. Charlotte Hilton Andersen: Stupid Things Celebrities Say About Weight | JukeBox Deli
  5. Stupid Things Celebrities Say About Weight « Nosʏ Neɪɢʜʙoʀ

Leave a Reply

