Skip to content

New “Diet” Fad/Fatshion: “Magic” Leggings

August 16, 2011

We’ve got a double whammy header today, folks! Both a new “diet” fad and fatshion all wrapped up in one! Too glamorous for words, but I’ll try.

Apparently, there are some new “magic” Proskins Slim leggings out there that are “cellulite and fat-busting.” Do tell me more…

The new ‘slim’ version of the leggings contains anti-cellulite ingredients, including caffeine (to boost circulation), retinol (to improve skin tone), and aloe vera (for skin-softening). These are packed into microscopic capsules and woven tightly into the yarn.

Now, I will admit that I personally have used some anti-cellulite creams (that don’t work at all) and some anti-cellulite pads that you stick behind your thighs and leave on for 24 hours with these exact same ingredients (that didn’t work at all, except to cause extreme tingling and uncomfortableness…and let me amend that by saying I have found a surefire solution for cellulite: regular exercise and a healthy diet…who would’ve thought?!), but wearing leggings to lose weight? Let’s hear more about what the DailyMail (hah) reviewer had to say about this newest fast-fix creation:
Moreover, if you wear them for eight hours a day, for 28 days, trials have shown that you should lose 2cm from your waist and thighs. That did it. I grabbed a pair, put them on and — three weeks later — have hardly taken them off.
Huh? So basically wearing these leggings is a full-time job. Look, if you do anything 8 hours a day for 28 days that is geared towards losing weight…you are going to lose weight. Does this not make sense to people? And what about washing these suckers? I decided to go to the Proskins website directly for more info.
MAGIC Leggings?

MAGIC Leggings?

The most interesting part of the website to me is the ways that they describe their gear for men versus for women. Here’s the women’s gear description:

Proskins slimming leggings; wear as sports leggings or under normal clothing.Contains caffeine, aloe vera, retinol and more.

Proskins slim garments act as body shapers.

Achieve a more defined waist, reduce thigh measurements by up to 2cm after only 28 days.

And the men?

High performance sports clothing.

Quicker muscle recovery after exercise.

Improved circulation and suppression of lactic acid.

Moisture removal and body temperature regulated to 37 degrees C.

Wow could we really play on the gender binary ANY MORE?! Clearly all women want is to lose weight and have defined waists while men just want to work out and gain muscle. CLEARLY. I really have nothing more to say about these “magic” leggings–if you want to wear the same pair of pants every day for a full month just on the off-chance that it gets rid of some bumps on your legs then…more power to you. And did you know that the moon is made of cheese? Ah delusion. A powerful tool indeed.

(Image courtesy of Proskins website)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Fedora permalink
    August 16, 2011 9:20 pm

    Could one sleep in them or do they have to wear them under/in place of work and normal clothes??

    This would save me all that time that I spend soaking all of my pants in coffee and retinol.

  2. jenmarie permalink
    August 18, 2011 3:14 pm

    This product plays to our desire for quick and easy weight loss, but we should all know by now that there is no such thing. Countless products have promised this through the years: weight loss without any of the work. But, significant and sustainable weight loss is accomplished through diet and exercise, period.
    That said, I openly admit to wearing spanx on more than one occasion to slip into a dress or skirt that is less than forgiving. So, I guess I’ve used clothes for “weight loss” too. I’ve definitely called spanx magical, but I never expected to be any thinner after taking them off…my extra flesh is way too resilient for that!

  3. December 29, 2012 9:58 pm

    Hi, I would like to subscribe for this weblog to get newest updates, thus where can i do it please
    assist.

    • January 22, 2013 5:04 pm

      Great! Just sign up in the “email subscription” box on the top right corner of the main homepage!

  4. May 26, 2013 3:16 pm

    Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you provide here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI,
    just 3G .. Anyhow, superb blog!

    • June 12, 2013 7:59 pm

      Thanks so much! I really appreciate your feedback and I’m so glad you found my blog! Hope Idaho is wonderful and please come back to visit again!

Leave a Reply

