Skip to content

Recent Fad Diet: “The Break-Up”

June 28, 2011

Many moons ago, American Idol winner Jordin Sparks taught me to take “One Step at a Time” and it was a lesson that I have tried to employ in every aspect of my life: career, relationships, exercise regiment. But now, it seems she is backtracking on her own advice!

Jordin has recently stepped out with a thinner figure and the gossip fiends are abuzzing:

Jordin is rumored to have lost 30lbs and cut her dress size in half – but why the sudden change?…American Idol’s Jordin Sparks used to love her plus sized figure, so much so that she previously modeled for the plus size clothing brand Torrid and even admitted it publicly numerous times since her time on the show. At one point she even stated “I love food and I love my curves. I’m very strong-willed and I’m stubborn in that sense to where I’m just like ‘No, I won’t be that way. The stick thin thing, I’m kind of just like, ‘Not gonna do it” and ‘I couldn’t.”

Well, ya can Jordin and ya did! And there’s no way that you did this with “No Air” (har har, I know) so…just how did you accomplish this feat?

Many Steps At A Time

Many Steps At A Time

Well, apparently a new weight loss program which is sure to become all the rage amongst celebrities that I shall deem “The Break-Up Diet”!

The American Idol winner, 21, talks about how heartbreak inspired her to lose weight Jennifer Hudson-style.

“I’m actually single right now, so that is the thing that’s changed [when I lost weight]…

I decided to make it a priority instead of just talkingabout it.”

How has she changed her diet?

“I haven’t actually, aside from the fact that I’m eating better proportions I guess,” she says. “I made chicken alfredo the other night, and I made some cupcakes the other night. It’s eating smaller, and actually thinking about whether I’m hungry or not. Instead of being like ‘I love food and I’m going to eat more,’ I’m taking my time.”

Huh. Well, girl looks damn good, that’s for sure! And it sounds like she’s still maintaining a healthy attitude about food and towards her body. I also read elsewhere that she has taken on a personal trainer, so that definitely helps.

Was the weight-loss worth the break-up? Or was it a Battlefield (ok, I’ll stop!)? All I know is that break-ups have the opposite effect on me…I am a complete cliche who sits in bed for days (months? years?) with a bag (bags) of chocolate covered pretzels, slowly atrophying away and sobbing and somehow bloating on the pounds. But ONE STEP AT A TIME! Maybe someday I’ll try out Jordin’s new lifestyle…maybe someday.

(Image courtesy of http://entertainment.blogs.foxnews.com, a site that I don’t really care or not if you check out)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2011 6:03 pm

    You shouldn’t feel like you need to try out Jordin’s new lifestyle. In fact, I’m very happy to say I will NEVER try out her new lifestyle. Ever. It involves too much wind fan and green high-heeled shoes.

  2. June 30, 2011 8:42 pm

    See, the real problem with me is that chocolate covered pretzels and sitting and doing nothing aren’t a breakup thing for me…..they’re probably the closest thing i’ve had to a relationship. So, perhaps the break-up diet would do me some good.

  3. fedora permalink
    August 2, 2011 4:35 am

    I am suspicious that she made no reference to losing weight once she could afford a nutritionist and trainer. I doubt celebrities just suddenly develop amazing willpower and discipline without help. Why hide it? Hopefully she lost weight because she wanted to and not because she felt pressured to. Raven simone has alluded to this about herself; she thought she looked great but hollywood told her she was too big.

Leave a Reply

