Skip to content

We Need Some Inspiration

June 24, 2011
Let's Do This

Let's Do This

HangryHippo has been in existence for a little over two weeks now, and in that time I have only featured two inspiring posts! And those were both featuring men in spandex! Which is indisputably inspiring, but…

I figured today was the day to take a hiatus from ranting (it’s sunny out!…Oh, you say it’s been sunny out every day because it’s summer and I’ve been locked inside trying to figure out how to work the internets/blogosphere because I am the most outdated 25 year old in existence? You might just be right) and instead highlight some inspiring websites/blogs I have been perusing that deal with weight and health!

SkinnyEmmie : Weight loss blogger “112 pounds into my journey, plus size clothing lover, marketer, #fitblog‘er, halfmarathon finisher.” Her bio is: Skinny Emmie is a twenty-something weight loss blogger who lives in Kentucky. This happily married marketing professional is on a 255 pound weight loss journey, after being morbidly obese a large portion of her life. Becoming “Skinny Emmie” isn’t about being thin, it’s about being happy, healthy and confident.

Summer Tomato:  The bio:  Summer Tomato offers tips and advice on healthy eating, especially for foodies in urban areas. This site is created and edited by Darya Pino, PhD, who is a trained scientist, San Francisco foodie and advocate of local, seasonal foods. Health is our greatest resource and though it sometimes seems elusive, anyone can achieve it. Long-term health and weight loss are within your reach, but you can’t rely on a short-term plan to get you there. Instead, let’s upgrade your healthstyle. Healthstyle is your own eating and exercise habits that influence your health. When you upgrade your healthstyle you optimize these behaviors to look and feel your best without sacrificing your personal style and flavor. Nutrition science is not as nebulous as the media would lead you to believe and healthy living is not as difficult or time consuming as you might think. Your daily food choices are by far the most important factors in your long-term personal health, and upgrading your healthstyle can add more than a decade of quality years to your life. In the process, you will look and feel better than you ever have.The key is efficiently incorporating fresh, seasonal foods into your diet, while avoiding the tasteless faux food that permeates our culture. Not only will you regain your health, but you will rediscover the pleasures of eating real, authentic food.”

Leaving Fatville: “60 pounds gone, a whole lot more to go! Follow me on this crazy road trip to learn how to be healthy and happy! (Not hungry!)” [Or Hangry, I hope…] Her bio: It’s been over a year since I started this weight loss journey. I’ve done it on my own until now. It’s time for stage two of the weight loss game, and that’s where you come in. You see, you are coming with me. I’m going to write it all down and tell it to you. All of it, all the gory details. That means when I fall off the weight loss wagon with a big tub of Brownie Fudge ice cream from Ben and Jerry’s, you’ll be right there with me. I’ll share what I’ve learned, or what I’m cooking with you and we’ll have a good time together. Maybe you’re in this weight loss thing with me. Maybe not. Either way, we’re going to have a good time. So hop on and enjoy the ride! We’re Leaving Fatville, and hitting the road to skinny!

If these sites don’t motivate and inspire, then I don’t know what will! Maybe more men in spandex? I can make that happen. Seriously, even just posting about these was encouraging and exciting for me. I think this may just have to become a weekly post…

(Image courtesy of Another Mother Runner, another inspiring site to check out!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

